SENATE FILE NO.

Board of agriculture-reorganization.

Sponsored by: Joint Agriculture, Public Lands and Water Resources Interim Committee

A BILL

for

- 1 AN ACT relating to the board of agriculture; modifying the
- 2 board membership; extending the board membership term;
- 3 increasing compensation; eliminating political party
- 4 requirement; providing an appropriation; and providing for
- 5 an effective date.

6

7 Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Wyoming:

8

- 9 **Section 1.** W.S. 11-2-102(a) and (b) and 11-2-104 are
- 10 amended to read:

11

- 12 11-2-102. Composition; qualifications; appointment
- 13 and removal of members; quorum.

14

- 15 (a) The board shall consist of nine (9) fifteen (15)
- 16 members, including the governor and the dean of the

1	University of Wyoming college of agriculture or his
2	designated representative as ex officio nonvoting members.
3	Seven (7) Thirteen (13) members shall be appointed by the
4	governor with the advice and consent of the senate and may
5	be removed by the governor as provided in W.S. 9-1-202.
6	One (1) member shall be appointed from each of the seven
7	(7) appointment districts pursuant to W.S. 9-1-218 top
8	three (3) agriculture producing counties as determined by
9	the latest United States bureau of economic analysis, to be
10	updated every six (6) years. The twenty (20) remaining
11	counties shall be divided into ten (10) districts and one
12	(1) member shall be appointed from each of the districts.
13	Appointments in each appointment district shall be rotated
14	among between the several two (2) counties comprising the
15	district. The initial top three (3) counties shall be
16	Goshen, Laramie and Platte counties. The remaining
17	counties shall be divided into districts as follows:
18	
19	(i) Albany and Carbon counties;
20	
21	(ii) Big Horn and Park counties;
22	
23	(iii) Campbell and Crook counties;
24	

1	(iv) Converse and Natrona counties;
2	
3	(v) Fremont and Sweetwater counties;
4	
5	(vi) Hot Springs and Washakie counties;
6	
7	(vii) Johnson and Sheridan counties;
8	
9	(viii) Lincoln and Uinta counties;
10	
11	(ix) Niobrara and Weston counties; and
12	
13	(x) Sublette and Teton counties.
14	
15	(b) Appointed members shall be appointed for a term
16	of four (4)—six (6) years. The seven (7)—thirteen (13)
17	members appointed from the various districts by the
18	governor shall be selected to represent a cross-section of
19	the agricultural industry and shall be engaged chiefly in
20	agricultural work., and not more than four (4) shall be
21	members of the same political party The members from
22	Goshen, Laramie and Platte counties and the members from
23	districts identified in paragraphs (a)(i) and (ii) of this
24	section shall serve initial terms of six (6) years. The

- 1 members from the districts identified in paragraphs
- 2 (a)(iii) through (vi) of this section shall serve initial
- terms of four (4) years. The members from the districts 3
- 4 identified in paragraphs (a)(vii) through (x) of this
- 5 section shall serve initial terms of two (2) years.

6

7 11-2-104. Salary and expenses; oath; election

8 president and vice-president.

9

10 The board members, except the governor and the dean of the

University of Wyoming college of agriculture, shall be paid 11

ten dollars (\$10.00) per day when acting in their official 12

13 capacity and shall be reimbursed for traveling expenses as

14 provided by W.S. 9-3-102 for state employees the same

15 salary, mileage and per diem for attending and traveling to

and from board meetings in the same manner and amount as 16

17 members of the Wyoming legislature. The appointed board

18 members, within a reasonable time after their appointment,

19 shall qualify by taking the constitutional oath of office

20 and filing it with the secretary of state. The appointed

21 members shall elect from their members a president and

22 vice-president.

23

Section 2. There is appropriated from the general 1

2 fund to the department of agriculture seventy-five thousand

dollars (\$75,000.00) to implement this act. 3

4

5 Section 3. This act is effective July 1, 2006.

6

7 (END)