STATE OF WYOMING 06LSO-0035.C1

SENATE FILE NO. _____

Board of agriculture.

Sponsored by: Joint Agriculture, Public Lands and Water Resources Interim Committee

A BILL

for

1	AN ACT relating to the board of agriculture; modifying the
2	board composition; extending the board membership term;
3	increasing the compensation as provided; providing an
4	appropriation; and providing for an effective date.
5	
6	Be It Enacted by the Legislature of the State of Wyoming:
7	
8	Section 1. W.S. $11-2-102$ and $11-2-104$ are amended to
9	read:
10	
11	11-2-102. Composition; qualifications; appointment
12	and removal of members; quorum.
13	
14	(a) The board shall consist of nine (9) <u>thirteen (13)</u>
15	members, including the governor and the dean of the
16	University of Wyoming college of agriculture or his

1

2006

STATE OF WYOMING 06LSO-0035.C1

designated representative as ex officio nonvoting members. 1 2 Seven (7) Eleven (11) voting members shall be appointed by 3 the governor with the advice and consent of the senate and 4 may be removed by the governor as provided in W.S. 9-1-202. 5 (b) One (1) member shall be appointed from each of 6 the seven (7) appointment districts pursuant to W.S. 7 9-1-218. Appointments in each appointment district shall 8 9 be rotated among the several counties comprising the district. 10 11 12 (b)(c) Appointed members shall be appointed for a term of four (4) six (6) years. 13 14 15 (d) The seven (7) members appointed from the various appointment districts: 16 17 18 (i) Shall be selected to represent a 19 cross-section of the agricultural industry; - and 20 21 (ii) Shall be engaged chiefly in agricultural 22 work; - and 23

2

1	<u>(iii) N</u> ot more than four (4) <u>six (6)</u> shall be
2	members of the same political party.
3	
4	(e) One (1) member shall be appointed from each of
5	the four (4) board of agriculture youth leadership
б	quadrants as follows:
7	
8	(i) The northeast quadrant shall consist of
9	Campbell, Crook, Johnson, Niobrara, Sheridan and Weston
10	counties;
11	
12	(ii) The northwest quadrant shall consist of Big
13	Horn, Hot Springs, Park, Teton and Washakie counties;
13 14	Horn, Hot Springs, Park, Teton and Washakie counties;
	Horn, Hot Springs, Park, Teton and Washakie counties; (iii) The southeast quadrant shall consist of
14	
14 15	(iii) The southeast quadrant shall consist of
14 15 16	(iii) The southeast quadrant shall consist of Albany, Converse, Goshen, Laramie, Natrona and Platte
14 15 16 17	(iii) The southeast quadrant shall consist of Albany, Converse, Goshen, Laramie, Natrona and Platte
14 15 16 17 18	(iii) The southeast quadrant shall consist of Albany, Converse, Goshen, Laramie, Natrona and Platte counties; and
14 15 16 17 18 19	(iii) The southeast quadrant shall consist of Albany, Converse, Goshen, Laramie, Natrona and Platte counties; and (iv) The southwest quadrant shall consist of
14 15 16 17 18 19 20	(iii) The southeast quadrant shall consist of Albany, Converse, Goshen, Laramie, Natrona and Platte counties; and (iv) The southwest quadrant shall consist of Carbon, Fremont, Lincoln, Sublette, Sweetwater and Uinta
14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21	(iii) The southeast quadrant shall consist of Albany, Converse, Goshen, Laramie, Natrona and Platte counties; and (iv) The southwest quadrant shall consist of Carbon, Fremont, Lincoln, Sublette, Sweetwater and Uinta

1 2 (i) Shall be selected to represent a cross-section of the agricultural industry; 3 4 5 (ii) Shall be engaged chiefly in agricultural б work; and 7 (iii) Shall be between eighteen (18) and thirty 8 9 (30) years of age at the time of submitting the application 10 for board membership. 11 12 (c)(g) A majority of the appointed members of the 13 board constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business. 14 (d)(h) Effective July 1, 1979, appointments and terms 15 16 shall be in accordance with W.S. 28-12-101 through 17 28-12-103. 18 19 11-2-104. Salary and expenses; oath; election of 20 president and vice-president. 21 22 The board members, except the governor and the dean of the 23 University of Wyoming college of agriculture, shall be paid ten dollars (\$10.00) per day when acting in their official 24

1 capacity and shall be reimbursed for traveling expenses as provided by W.S. 9-3-102 for state employees the salary, 2 mileage and per diem for attending and traveling to and 3 4 from board meetings in the same manner and amount as 5 members of the Wyoming legislature. The appointed board members, within a reasonable time after their appointment, 6 7 shall qualify by taking the constitutional oath of office and filing it with the secretary of state. The appointed 8 9 members shall elect from their members a president and vice-president. 10

11

12 Section 2. There is appropriated from the general 13 fund to the department of agriculture fifty thousand 14 dollars (\$50,000.00) for the purpose of implementing this 15 act.

16

17 Section 3. W.S. 11-2-102(f) shall not apply to 18 members of the board of agriculture appointed prior to the 19 effective date of this act, but shall apply to members of 20 the board of agriculture appointed after the effective date 21 of this act.

22

5

1	Section 4.	This act	is effective	July 1,	2006.
2					
3			(END)		