H.B. No. 0057

Ownership of pore space-dominance of mineral estate.


Sponsored By:        Joint Judiciary Interim Committee


AN ACT relating to property; declaring the mineral estate dominant over pore space; and providing for an effective date.


12/23/2008  Bill Number Assigned

1/13/2009   H Introduced and Referred to H01

1/13/2009   H Received for Introduction

1/15/2009   H01 Recommended Do Pass



Ayes:  Representative(s) Bagby, Barbuto, Cannady, Gingery, Mercer, Patton, Peasley, Quarberg and Throne

Ayes 9    Nays 0    Excused 0    Absent 0    Conflicts 0


1/15/2009   H Placed on General File

1/16/2009   H Passed CoW

1/19/2009   H Passed 2nd Reading

1/20/2009   H Passed 3rd Reading



Ayes:  Representative(s) Anderson, R., Bagby, Barbuto, Berger, Blake, Bonner, Brown, Buchanan, Byrd, Cannady, Carson, Childers, Cohee, Connolly, Craft, Davison, Diercks, Edmonds, Esquibel, K., Gingery, Goggles, Hallinan, Hammons, Harshman, Harvey, Illoway, Jaggi, Landon, Lockhart, Lubnau, Madden, McKim, McOmie, Mercer, Meyer, Miller, Millin, Moniz, Patton, Peasley, Pedersen, Petersen, Quarberg, Roscoe, Semlek, Shepperson, Simpson, Stubson, Teeters, Thompson, Throne, Wallis, Zwonitzer, Dn. and Zwonitzer, Dv.

Nays:  Representative(s) Brechtel, Gilmore, Hales and Steward

Excused:  Representative(s) Jorgensen and Philp

Ayes 54    Nays 4    Excused 2    Absent 0    Conflicts 0


1/20/2009   S Received for Introduction

1/26/2009   S Introduced and Referred to S01

2/2/2009    S01 Recommended Do Pass



Ayes:  Senator(s) Burns, Decaria, Perkins, Ross and Sessions

Ayes 5    Nays 0    Excused 0    Absent 0    Conflicts 0


2/2/2009    S Placed on General File

2/12/2009   S Passed CoW



Page 2–line 4           After "surface." insert "This section shall not be construed as conveying to the owner of the mineral estate any right to prevent or constrain use of the pore space Absent demonstrated damage to the mineral estate by the use of the pore space.".  SCOTT, HINES


2/13/2009   S Passed 2nd Reading

2/17/2009   S Passed 3rd Reading



Ayes:  Senator(s) Decaria, Dockstader, Esquibel, F., Hastert, Jennings, Landen, Larson, Martin, Massie, Nicholas, Perkins, Peterson, Ross, Sessions, Townsend, Vasey and Von Flatern

Nays:  Senator(s) Anderson, J., Burns, Case, Coe, Cooper, Geis, Hines, Hunnicutt, Johnson, Meier, Schiffer and Scott

Excused:  Senator(s) Bebout

Ayes 17    Nays 12    Excused 1    Absent 0    Conflicts 0


2/17/2009   Assigned Number HEA No. 0008

2/20/2009   H Speaker Signed HEA No. 0008

2/23/2009   S President Signed HEA No. 0008

2/26/2009   Governor Signed HEA No. 0008

2/27/2009   Assigned Chapter Number


Chapter No. 0049  Session Laws of Wyoming 2009.