H.B. No. 0108

Student activities participation fees.


Sponsored By:     Representative(s) Teeters, Brechtel and Stubson and Senator(s) Perkins


AN ACT relating to school districts; providing for equal assessment of activities participation fees upon students; reimbursing districts for payment of participation fees; imposing duties upon the department of education; providing an appropriation; and providing for an effective date.


1/6/2009    Bill Number Assigned

1/13/2009   H Received for Introduction

1/14/2009   H Introduced and Referred to H04

1/30/2009   H04 Recommended Amend and Do Pass



Ayes:  Representative(s) Brechtel, Diercks, Jaggi, Lubnau, McOmie and Teeters

Nays:  Representative(s) Connolly, Craft and McKim

Ayes 6    Nays 3    Excused 0    Absent 0    Conflicts 0


1/30/2009   H Placed on General File

1/30/2009   H Rereferred to H02

2/3/2009    H02 Recommended Do Pass



Ayes:  Representative(s) Berger, Hammons, Harshman, Jorgensen, Pedersen, Philp and Steward

Ayes 7    Nays 0    Excused 0    Absent 0    Conflicts 0


2/3/2009    H Placed on General File



Page 1-line 1           After ";" delete balance of line and insert "providing for equal assessment of".

Page 1-line 2           Delete "from assessing".

Page 1-line 3           Delete the line through "time".

Page 2-lines 7 through 9            Delete and insert:

"(i)  The district may require the student to pay any fees for participation which are required by the Wyoming high school activities association provided any such fees imposed under this paragraph are equally imposed upon all students within the district;".  MCOMIE, CHAIRMAN


2/9/2009    H Passed CoW

2/10/2009   H Passed 2nd Reading

2/11/2009   H Passed 3rd Reading



Ayes:  Representative(s) Anderson, R., Berger, Bonner, Brechtel, Brown, Buchanan, Cannady, Carson, Childers, Cohee, Diercks, Edmonds, Esquibel, K., Gilmore, Gingery, Goggles, Hales, Hallinan, Hammons, Harshman, Illoway, Jaggi, Jorgensen, Landon, Lockhart, Madden, McOmie, Miller, Millin, Moniz, Patton, Peasley, Pedersen, Petersen, Philp, Quarberg, Roscoe, Semlek, Shepperson, Steward, Stubson, Teeters, Throne, Wallis and Zwonitzer, Dv.

Nays:  Representative(s) Bagby, Barbuto, Blake, Byrd, Connolly, Craft, Davison, Harvey, Lubnau, McKim, Meyer, Simpson, Thompson and Zwonitzer, Dn.

Excused:  Representative(s) Mercer

Ayes 45    Nays 14    Excused 1    Absent 0    Conflicts 0


2/13/2009   S Received for Introduction

2/17/2009   S Introduced and Referred to S04

2/25/2009   S04 Recommended Amend and Do Pass



Ayes:  Senator(s) Coe, Decaria, Jennings and Von Flatern

Nays:  Senator(s) Massie

Ayes 4    Nays 1    Excused 0    Absent 0    Conflicts 0


2/25/2009   S Placed on General File; Did Not Consider in CoW