H.B. No. 0136

State legal action-NEPA and ESA.


Sponsored By:     Representative(s) Childers, Cohee, Jaggi, Philp and Simpson and Senator(s) Bebout, Coe, Townsend and Vasey


AN ACT relating to federal natural resource policy; providing for the investigation and initiation of legal action; providing the attorney general the ability to seek legal remedies as specified; requiring a report; and providing for an effective date.


1/12/2009   Bill Number Assigned

1/13/2009   H Received for Introduction

1/15/2009   H Introduced and Referred to H06

2/6/2009    H06 Recommended Do Pass



Ayes:  Representative(s) Bonner, Brown, Childers, Davison, Jaggi, Millin, Shepperson and Thompson

Nays:  Representative(s) Connolly

Ayes 8    Nays 1    Excused 0    Absent 0    Conflicts 0


2/6/2009    H Placed on General File

2/9/2009    H Passed CoW

2/10/2009   H Passed 2nd Reading

2/11/2009   H Passed 3rd Reading



Ayes:  Representative(s) Anderson, R., Bagby, Berger, Blake, Bonner, Brechtel, Brown, Buchanan, Byrd, Cannady, Carson, Childers, Cohee, Craft, Davison, Diercks, Edmonds, Esquibel, K., Gilmore, Harshman, Harvey, Illoway, Jaggi, Lockhart, Lubnau, Madden, McKim, McOmie, Meyer, Miller, Moniz, Patton, Peasley, Pedersen, Petersen, Philp, Quarberg, Semlek, Shepperson, Simpson, Steward, Stubson, Teeters, Thompson, Wallis and Zwonitzer, Dv.

Nays:  Representative(s) Barbuto, Connolly, Gingery, Goggles, Hales, Hallinan, Hammons, Jorgensen, Landon, Millin, Roscoe, Throne and Zwonitzer, Dn.

Excused:  Representative(s) Mercer

Ayes 46    Nays 13    Excused 1    Absent 0    Conflicts 0


2/11/2009   S Received for Introduction

2/11/2009   S Introduced and Referred to S06

2/12/2009   S06 Recommended Do Pass



Ayes:  Senator(s) Coe, Dockstader and Jennings

Nays:  Senator(s) Burns and Sessions

Ayes 3    Nays 2    Excused 0    Absent 0    Conflicts 0


2/12/2009   S Placed on General File

2/27/2009   S Passed CoW

3/2/2009    S Passed 2nd Reading

3/3/2009    S Failed 3rd Reading



Ayes:  Senator(s) Bebout, Coe, Cooper, Dockstader, Esquibel, F., Hastert, Hines, Hunnicutt, Meier, Peterson, Ross, Scott, Townsend, Vasey and Von Flatern

Nays:  Senator(s) Anderson, J., Burns, Case, Decaria, Geis, Jennings, Johnson, Landen, Larson, Martin, Massie, Nicholas, Perkins, Schiffer and Sessions

Ayes 15    Nays 15    Excused 0    Absent 0    Conflicts 0


3/3/2009    S Failed 3rd 15-15; Failed Reconsideration



Ayes:  Senator(s) Cooper, Dockstader, Hunnicutt, Meier, Peterson, Scott, Townsend and Vasey

Nays:  Senator(s) Anderson, J., Bebout, Burns, Case, Coe, Decaria, Esquibel, F., Geis, Hastert, Hines, Jennings, Johnson, Landen, Larson, Martin, Massie, Nicholas, Perkins, Ross, Schiffer, Sessions and Von Flatern

Ayes 8    Nays 22    Excused 0    Absent 0    Conflicts 0