H.B. No. 0248

School facilities-remedy criteria.


Sponsored By:     Representative(s) Harshman, Brechtel, Buchanan, Davison, Jaggi, Simpson and Teeters and Senator(s) Coe and Hines


AN ACT relating to school facilities; specifying and clarifying factors impacting capital construction remedies addressing district facility needs; specifying application; and providing for an effective date.


1/21/2009   Bill Number Assigned

1/22/2009   H Received for Introduction

1/23/2009   H Introduced and Referred to H04

2/5/2009    H04 Recommended Amend and Do Pass



Ayes:  Representative(s) Brechtel, Connolly, Craft, Jaggi, McKim, McOmie and Teeters

Nays:  Representative(s) Diercks and Lubnau

Ayes 7    Nays 2    Excused 0    Absent 0    Conflicts 0


2/5/2009    H Placed on General File



Page 1-line 3           After ";" insert "specifying application;".

Page 2-line 21          Delete "thirty percent (30%)" insert "fifteen percent (15%)".

Page 2-line 22          Delete "twenty percent (20%)" insert "thirty-five percent (35%)".

Page 4-line 10          Delete "other" insert "reasonable".

Page 4-line 11          Delete "and" insert ";".

Page 4-line 12          Delete.

Page 5-After line 16    Insert:

"Section 2.  Nothing in this act shall apply to any design, construction or renovation agreement approved by or entered into by the school facilities commission pursuant to W.S. 21‑15‑114(a)(viii) prior to the effective date of this act, nor shall this act alter or modify any building or facility design, construction or renovation project initiated under W.S. 21‑15‑118 before the effective date of this act.". 

Page 5-line 18          Delete "2" insert "3".  MCOMIE, CHAIRMAN


2/6/2009    H Passed CoW

2/9/2009    H Passed 2nd Reading

2/10/2009   H Passed 3rd Reading



Ayes:  Representative(s) Anderson, R., Bagby, Barbuto, Berger, Blake, Bonner, Brechtel, Brown, Buchanan, Byrd, Cannady, Carson, Childers, Cohee, Connolly, Craft, Davison, Edmonds, Esquibel, K., Gilmore, Gingery, Goggles, Hales, Hallinan, Hammons, Harshman, Harvey, Illoway, Jaggi, Jorgensen, Landon, Madden, McKim, McOmie, Mercer, Meyer, Miller, Millin, Moniz, Peasley, Pedersen, Petersen, Philp, Quarberg, Roscoe, Semlek, Shepperson, Simpson, Steward, Stubson, Teeters, Thompson, Throne, Wallis, Zwonitzer, Dn. and Zwonitzer, Dv.

Nays:  Representative(s) Diercks and Patton

Excused:  Representative(s) Lockhart and Lubnau.

Ayes 56    Nays 2    Excused 2    Absent 0    Conflicts 0


2/12/2009   S Received for Introduction

2/12/2009   S Introduced and Referred to S04; No Report Prior to CoW Cutoff

2/26/2009   Motion to Do Pass Failed



Ayes:  Senator(s) Jennings and Von Flatern

Nays:  Senator(s) Coe, Decaria and Massie

Ayes 2    Nays 3    Excused 0    Absent 0    Conflicts 0


3/4/2009    S Committee Returned Bill Pursuant to SR 7-3(c)