STATE OF WYOMING

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. HJ0006

Reject National Popular Vote Compact.

by: Representative(s) Blackburn, Burlingame, Sponsored Harshman, Hunt, Lindholm, Nicholas, Olsen, Stith, Styvar and Western and Senator(s) Anderson, Baldwin, Biteman, Boner, Bouchard, Coe, Dockstader, Driskill, Hicks, Hutchings, Kinskey, Landen and Steinmetz

A JOINT RESOLUTION

for

A JOINT RESOLUTION rejecting the National Popular Vote 1 2 Compact and calling on non-signatory states to similarly 3 reject the compact. 4 5 WHEREAS, free and fair elections are essential for democracy; б and 7 WHEREAS, the Electoral College has been the hallmark of 8 9 presidential elections in the United States for two (2) 10 centuries; and 11 WHEREAS, the Electoral College provides stability to our 12 democratic republic; and 13

1

1 2 WHEREAS, the National Popular Vote Compact seeks to undermine 3 the electoral college and upset the established method of 4 presidential election; and 5 б WHEREAS, should the Compact be given effect, rural, agrarian 7 states like Wyoming would be stripped of all electoral power 8 and be seen as no more than serfs in a feudal system; and 9 10 WHEREAS, the National Popular Vote Compact is of questionable 11 legal significance and may be contrary to the Compacts Clause 12 within Article 1, Section 10 of the United States 13 Constitution; 14 15 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE16 LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WYOMING: 17 18 Section 1. That the Wyoming Legislature emphatically 19 rejects the National Popular Vote Compact and encourages 20 other state legislatures which may be considering adoption of 21 the National Popular Vote Compact to decline the same and 22 voice opposition to any such measure.

23

2

1 Section 2. That the Secretary of State of Wyoming 2 transmit copies of this resolution to the Wyoming 3 Congressional Delegation and the Governor of Wyoming, and to 4 the legislature of the thirty-five (35) states (Alabama, 5 Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, 6 Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, 7 Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, Nevada, Ohio, 8 9 Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, 10 Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin) 11 that have not signed the compact.

- 12
- 13 (END)