
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

WW YY OO MM II NN GG   LL EE GG II SS LL AA TT II VV EE   SS EE RR VV II CC EE   OO FF FF II CC EE   

  

  

RESEARCH AND INFORMATION SERVICES • 213 State Capitol • Cheyenne, Wyoming 82002  
TELEPHONE 307-777-7881 • FAX 307-777-5466 • EMAIL lso@state.wy.us • WEBSITE http://legisweb.state.wy.us 

 

FFAACCTT                SSHHEEEETT   

Prepared by Jennifer Lockwood, Associate Research Analyst 

February 18, 2014 

14FS004 

 

PPRROO PP OOSS EE DD   LLEE GGII SS LL AA TT II OONN   PPRR OO HHII BB II TT II NN GG   WWEE AARR AABB LLEE   EELLEE CCTT RR OONN II CC   DDEE VV II CCEE SS   

  WWHHII LLEE   DDRRII VV II NN GG   

 

Several states have proposed bills prohibiting the use of wearable electronic devices such as Google Glass while 

driving within the 2014 legislative session.  Products such as Google Glass are worn on the face using glass frames.  

They receive voice commands in order to communicate with the internet, and transmit a video display in front of 

one eye of the user.   

 

Table 1 provides a description of the legislation currently on the docket in several states. The table lists the name of 

the state and the bill number, as well as the definition regarding wearable electronic devices provided in the 

legislation, and the proposed penalty. 

 

  Table 1.  2014 Proposed Legislation Regarding Wearable Electronic Devices While Driving. 

State 
Bill 

Number 
Definition Proposed Penalty 

Delaware HB 155 

"Electronic Communication Device" is 

amended to include, "Wearable computer 

with a head-mounted display" which is 

defined as, "…a computing device which is 

worn on the head and projects visual 

information into the field of vision of the 

wearer." 

Delaware Statute 4176C(d) states, 

"Whoever violates this section shall for 

the first offense be subject to a civil 

penalty of $50. For each subsequent 

offense the person shall be subject to a 

civil penalty of not less than $100 nor 

more than $200." 

Illinois SB2632 

Bill includes the term, "mobile computing 

headsets" which is defined as, "a computing 

device with a head mounted display that can 

project visual information into the field of 

vision of the wearer." 

"A person who violates this Section 

shall be fined a 

maximum of $75 for a first offense, 

$100 for a second offense, $125 for a 

third offense, and $150 for a fourth or 

subsequent offense." 

Missouri HB 1123 

Bill refers to the term, "head-mounted optic 

display" which is defined as, "a display 

device worn on the head or as part of a 

helmet that has a small display optic in front 

of one or each eye." 

Penalty upon the first offense is a class 

B misdemeanor, and the offender's 

license would be suspended for a period 

of 30 days with an additional 60 days of 

restricted driving privileges.  A second 

offense would be considered a Class A 

Misdemeanor with a penalty of five 

days imprisonment, probation or parole, 

and 30 days of community service with 
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a license revocation of at least one year. 

A third offense carries the penalty of a 

Class D Felony with a minimum of 10 

days imprisonment. Additional 

penalties would include 60 days of 

community service, and the revocation 

of driving privileges for 10 years. 

New Jersey A01802 

Bill includes the term, "wearable computer 

with head mounted display" which is 

defined as, "a computing device which is 

worn on the head of an individual and 

projects visual information into the field of 

vision of the wearer." 

"Any person who violates the 

provisions of the bill is subject to a 

$100 fine, but shall not be assessed any 

motor vehicle points or automobile 

insurance eligibility points." 

New York A08496 

Within the bill the term," 'Using' shall mean 

holding or wearing a portable electronic 

device while viewing, taking or transmitting 

images, playing games, or, for the purpose 

of present or future communication: 

performing  a  command  or request  to  

access  a world wide web page, composing, 

sending, reading, 

viewing, accessing, browsing, transmitting, 

saving or retrieving e-mail, text messages, 

instant messages, or other electronic data".  

"'Head-Mounted' shall mean wearing a 

portable electronics device on the head, ears 

and nose as eyeglasses or eyewear.  

Common head-mounted portable electronic 

devices shall include, but not be limited to, 

google glass and google glasses, and other 

similar technologies or devices." 

Under N.Y. VAT. LAW § 1225-d: NY 

Code -Section 1225-D: "A violation of 

this section shall be a traffic infraction 

and shall be punishable by a fine of not 

more than one hundred fifty dollars."  

West 

Virginia 
HB 3057 

The bill refers to the term, "a wearable 

computer with head mounted display" 

which is defined as, "a computing device 

which is worn on the head and projects 

visual information into the field of vision of 

the wearer." 

First offense would be a fine of $100; 

second offense would be  a fine of 

$200; and for a third or subsequent 

offense the offender would be fined 

$300. 

Wyoming SF0035 

Bill includes the term, "a wearable 

computer with head mounted display" 

defined as, "a computing device or mobile 

communication device which is worn on the 

head and projects visual information into 

the field of vision of the wearer." 

Penalty defined under W.S. 31-5-

237(c): "Any person who operates a 

motor vehicle in violation of this 

section is guilty of a misdemeanor 

punishable by a fine of not more than 

seventy-five dollars ($75.00)." 

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures, and the Delaware, Illinois, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, West Virginia, and    

Wyoming State Legislature websites. 

 

 

 

If you need anything further, please contact LSO Research at 777-7881. 


