News Release



STATE of WYOMING LEGISLATURE

FOR RELEASE Immediately

CONTACT Wendy Madsen, Legislative Information Officer or

Anthony Sara, Associate Legislative Information Officer

To REACH: (307) 777-7881

LEGISLATIVE LEADERSHIP AND COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS FOR 63RD LEGISLATURE FINALIZED

CHEYENNE – The members of the Wyoming House of Representatives and the Wyoming Senate have finalized their leadership and committee assignments following party caucuses Saturday and Sunday. Members of leadership will be sworn in during opening ceremonies on the first day of session, which is slated to begin at Noon on Jan. 13.

In the House of Representatives, Representative Kermit Brown, of Laramie, was elected Speaker of the House; Representative Rosie Berger, of Big Horn, was elected Majority Floor Leader; Representative Tim Stubson, of Casper, was elected Speaker Pro Tempore; and Representative Hans Hunt, of Newcastle, was elected Majority Whip. Representative Mary Throne, of Cheyenne, was elected as Minority Floor Leader; Representative Ken Esquibel, of Cheyenne, was elected as the Minority Whip; and Representative James Byrd, of Cheyenne, was elected as Minority Caucus Chairman.

On the Senate side, Senator Phil Nicholas, of Laramie, was elected President of the Senate; Senator Eli Bebout, of Riverton, was elected to the position of Majority Floor Leader; and Senator Drew Perkins, of Casper, was elected Vice President. Senator Chris Rothfuss, of Laramie, was elected to the position of Minority Floor Leader; Senator Bernadine Craft, of Rock Springs, was elected as Minority Whip; and Senator John Hastert, of Green River, was elected as Minority Caucus Chairman.

The following House committee assignments have been made for the 63rd Wyoming Legislature:

- Judiciary: David Miller, Riverton, Chairman; Mark Baker, Rock Springs; Ken Esquibel, Cheyenne; Marti Halverson, Etna; Kendall Kroeker, Evansville; Sam Krone, Cody; Charles Pelkey, Laramie; Bill Pownell, Gillette; Nathan Winters, Thermopolis.
- Appropriations: Steve Harshman, Casper, Chairman; Donald Burkhart, Rawlins; Cathy Connolly, Laramie; Mike Greear, Worland; Glenn Moniz, Laramie; Bob Nicholas, Cheyenne; Tim Stubson, Casper.
- Revenue: Mike Madden, Buffalo, Chairman; Jim Blackburn, Cheyenne; JoAnn Dayton, Rock Springs;
 Roy Edwards, Gillette; Mark Jennings, Sheridan; Bunky Loucks, Casper; David Northrup, Powell; Tom Reeder, Casper; Sue Wilson, Cheyenne.

- Education: John Patton, Sheridan, Chairman; John Freeman, Green River; Hans Hunt, Newcastle; Allen Jaggi, Lyman; David Northrup, Powell; Jerry Paxton, Encampment; Garry Piiparinen, Evanston; Albert Sommers, Pinedale; Mary Throne, Cheyenne.
- Agriculture: Robert McKim, Afton, Chairman; Jim Allen, Lander; Stan Blake, Green River; Rita Campbell, Shoshoni; John Eklund, Cheyenne; Hans Hunt, Newcastle; Allen Jaggi, Lyman; Dan Laursen, Powell; Tyler Linholm, Sundance.
- Travel: Ruth Ann Petroff, Jackson, Chairman; Fred Baldwin, Kemmerer; Eric Barlow, Gillette; Scott Clem, Gillette; John Freeman, Green River; Dan Kirkbride, Chugwater; Dan Laursen, Powell; Andy Schwartz, Jackson; Cheri Steinmetz, Lingle.
- Corporations: Dan Zwonitzer, Cheyenne, Chairman; Jim Blackburn, Cheyenne; James Byrd, Cheyenne; Roy Edwards, Gillette; Gerald Gay, Casper; Mark Jennings, Sheridan; Dan Kirkbride, Chugwater; Tyler Lindholm, Sundance; Jerry Paxton, Encampment.
- Transportation: Dave Zwonitzer, Cheyenne, Chairman; Jim Allen, Lander; Stan Blake, Green River; Rita Campbell, Shoshoni; Richard Cannady, Glenrock; John Eklund, Cheyenne; Bunky Loucks, Casper; Tom Reeder, Casper; Tom Walters, Casper.
- Minerals: Tom Lockhart, Casper, Chairman; James Byrd, Cheyenne; Richard Cannady, Glenrock; Harlan Edmonds, Cheyenne; Gerald Gay, Casper; Norine Kasperik, Gillette; Lloyd Larsen, Lander; Albert Sommers, Pinedale; Tom Walters, Casper.
- Labor: Elaine Harvey, Lovell, Chairman; Fred Baldwin, Kemmerer; Eric Barlow, Gillette; JoAnn Dayton, Rock Springs; Harlan Edmonds, Cheyenne; Norine Kasperik, Gillette; Lloyd Larsen, Lander; Andy Schwartz, Jackson; Sue Wilson, Cheyenne.

The following Senate committee assignments have been made for the 63rd Wyoming Legislature:

- Judiciary: Leland Christensen, Alta, Chairman; Floyd Esquibel, Cheyenne; Larry Hicks, Baggs; Dave Kinskey, Sheridan; Michael Von Flatern, Gillette.
- Appropriations: Tony Ross, Cheyenne, Chairman; Bruce Burns, Sheridan; John Hastert, Green River; Drew Perkins, Casper; Jeff Wasserburger, Gillette.
- Revenue: R. Ray Peterson, Cowley, Chairman; Cale Case, Lander; Ogden Driskill, Devils Tower; Dave Kinskey, Sheridan; Bill Landen, Casper.
- Education: Henry H.R. "Hank" Coe, Cody, Chairman; Jim Anderson (S.D. 02), Glenrock; Dan Dockstader, Afton; Stephan Pappas, Cheyenne; Chris Rothfuss, Laramie.
- Agriculture: Gerald Geis, Worland, Chairman; Fred Emerich, Cheyenne; Dan Dockstader, Afton; Leland Christensen, Alta; Paul Barnard, Evanston.
- Travel: Stan Cooper, Kemmerer, Chairman; James Anderson (S.D. 28), Casper; Paul Barnard, Evanston; Bernadine Craft, Rock Springs; Wayne Johnson, Cheyenne.
- Corporations: Cale Case, Lander, Chairman; Larry Hicks, Baggs; Curt Meier, LaGrange; Stephan Pappas, Cheyenne; Charles Scott, Casper.
- Transportation: Curt Meier, LaGrange, Chairman; Jim Anderson (S.D. 02), Glenrock; Fred Emerich, Cheyenne; Floyd Esquibel, Cheyenne; Wayne Johnson, Cheyenne.
- Minerals: Michael Von Flatern, Gillette, Chairman; James Anderson (S.D. 28), Casper; Henry H.R. "Hank" Coe, Cody; Stan Cooper, Kemmerer; Chris Rothfuss, Laramie.
- Labor: Charles Scott, Casper, Chairman; Bernadine Craft, Rock Springs; Ogden Driskill, Devils Tower;
 Bill Landen, Casper; R. Ray Peterson, Cowley.